Evolution of Indian Civil Services

//Evolution of Indian Civil Services

Evolution of Indian Civil Services

While India was climbing up the ladder of development, the evolution of administration took place. The All India service which we have today has a long history. Before we go any further, let us briefly understand the meaning of Civil servants.

Civil servants are the professional officials who have the capability to handle the civil affairs of a state while keeping the politics away. They are there to devote their service for the welfare of the community.

Ancient phase: India has the tradition of civil services since ancient times. Do you remember Kautilya? Kautilya who wrote Arthashastra mentioned three categories of government employees.

  1. Officer (Yukta)
  2. Clerk (Upayukta)
  3. Servant (Tat-Purusham)

Medieval Phase:  Then came the Mughal era, which had the Mansabdari system. This system combined the civil and military bureaucracy.

Modern Phase: The directors of the East India Company used to nominate the civil servants. The servants were further trained at the Haileybury College in London and then sent to India.

British era: Civil Service went  a gradual change.There was a transformation from British patronage system to examination based selection. There were various acts and commissions involved in this. All of them mark their contribution to the formation of Civil services today                                                                                                     

After India became Independent, the Indian leaders decided to retain few elements of the British structure of administration in India. This included;

  1. An open entry system based on merit and academics
  2. Permanent Tenure
  3. Training for the civil servants
  4. Reservation of Important posts for Civil servants
  5. Pension and other benefits

With the inauguration of the Constitution of India in January 26, 1950, the Federal Public Service Commission came to be known as the Union Public Service Commission.Civil services in India can be grouped into 3 different categories

All India Service: Their members serve both at the union and state governments.

Central civil service: Their members serve only the union Government.

State Civil Service: Their members serve at the state Governments.

Today, we see students taking IAS Coaching in Chandigarh and all over India as well. This is an exam which tests the wisdom and not just the knowledge of a person.  The write- up is framed for those who not only wish to clear the exam but also want to serve the country. We wish that it was a happy reading.

By | 2018-07-27T12:06:50+00:00 July 27th, 2018|Categories: Blog|Tags: |0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment

Contact Info

First Floor, Dainik Bhaskar Building, Sector 25, Chandigarh

Phone: 70870-00447

Mobile: 98147-11661

%d bloggers like this: