The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs has approved continuation of revamped Centrally Sponsored Scheme of Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (RGSA) for implementation during the period from 01.04.2022 to 31.03.2026.


What is the ‘Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Abhiyan’?

  • The Finance Minister, in his budget speech for 2016-17, announced the launch of new restructured scheme of Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (RGSA), for developing and strengthening the capacities of Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs).
  • Launched in 2018, the scheme is aimed to make rural local governance more responsive towards local development needs, preparing the participatory plans that leverage technology, efficient and optimum utilisation of available resources for realising sustainable solutions to local problems linked to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
  • It is being implemented by the Union Ministry of Panchayati Raj.
  • The scheme aims at making rural local bodies self-sustainable, financially stable and more efficient.
  • It seeks to address critical gaps that hinder the success of Panchayats by enhancing their capacities and effectiveness, and promote devolution of powers and responsibilities.
  • This scheme will extend to all States and UTs of the country and will also include institutions of rural local government in non-Part IX areas, where Panchayats do not exist.
  • The approved scheme of RGSA will help more than 2.55 lakh Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) to develop governance capabilities to deliver on SDGs through inclusive local governance with focus on optimum utilisation of available resources.



  • The funding pattern for State Components will be in the ratio of 60:40 among Centre and States respectively, except NE, Hilly States and Union Territory (UT) of J&K where Central and State share will be 90:10. However, for other UTs, Central share will be 100%.
  • Panchayats are the focal points for all the developmental activities and implementation of schemes of various Ministries/ Departments and State Government to achieve SDGs.
  • Ministry under revamped RGSA will shift its focus towards capacitating the elected representatives of PRIs for Leadership Roles to develop effective third tier of Government to enable them to deliver on localisation of SDGs principally for nine themes, namely –
      1. Poverty free and enhanced livelihood in villages,
      2. Healthy Village,
      3. Child Friendly Village,
      4. Water Sufficient Village,
      5. Clean and Green Village,
      6. Self-Sufficient Infrastructure in Village,
      7. Socially Secured Village,
      8. (viii) Village with Good Governance, and
      9. Engendered Development in Village.