Prime Minister Narendra Modi has called for giving boost to One District One Product scheme & further develop Aspirational Districts.


What is ‘One District, One Product’ scheme?

  • ODOP was launched by the Ministry of Food Processing Industries, to help districts reach their full potential, foster economic and socio-cultural growth, and create employment opportunities, especially, in rural areas.
  • This initiative is carried out with the ‘Districts as Exports Hub’ initiative by the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), Department of Commerce.
  • There may be more than one cluster of ODOP products in one district. The States would identify the food product for a district, keeping in perspective the focus of the scheme on perishables.
  • The ODOP product could be a perishable Agri produce, cereal-based product, or a food product widely produced in a district and their allied sectors.
  • The ODOP launch date is January 24, 2018, by the Uttar Pradesh Government, and due to its success, was later adopted by the Central Government.


About the ‘Aspirational Districts Programme’

  • The aim is to quickly and effectively transform some of India’s most underdeveloped districts. It will identify areas of immediate improvement, measure progress, and rank districts.
  • The broad ideas of the programme include –
      • convergence of central and state schemes
      • collaboration of central, state level Prabhari‘ (in-charge) officers and district collectors
      • competition among districts
  • The 115 districts were chosen by senior officials of the Union government in consultation with State officials based on a composite Index.
  • The parameters included are
        • deprivation enumerated under Socio-Economic Caste Census
        • key health and education performance indicators
        • state of basic infrastructure
  • The baseline ranking is based on 49 indicators across 5 sectors – health and nutrition, education, agriculture and water resources, financial inclusion and skill development and basic infrastructure.
  • A minimum of one district was chosen from every State.
  • The baseline ranking would be followed by delta ranking of these districts based on their “incremental progress“.
  • The progress of each district will be monitored by the dashboard which has all the latest available data in the 5 sectors given by the District Collectors.
  • For each district, a four-tier supervisory mechanism has been put in place with a Central Nodal Officer from the Union Government, a State Nodal Officer from concerned State Government, a District Nodal Officer/District Collector and a Union Minister-in-charge.


NOTE – As of March 2020, NITI Aayog is working with stakeholders in 112 aspirational districts as West Bengal is not participating in this exercise.