Prime Minister Narendra Modi unveiled a 6.5-metre-tall National Emblem on the roof of the under-construction Parliament building.


About the ‘National Emblem’ of India

  • National Emblem of India is a representative seal of the Republic of India.
  • It is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Asoka at Sarnath.
      • In the original, there are four lions, mounted back to back, on a circular abacus, which itself rests on a bell-shaped lotus.
      • The frieze of the abacus has sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening Dharma Chakras.
  • It was adopted on 26 January 1950.


Features of national emblem

  • The adopted version of the State Emblem of India consists of —
      • The profile of the Lion Capital showing three lions mounted on the abacus with a Dharma Chakra in the centre;
      • a bull on the right and a galloping horse on the left, and
      • outlines of Dharma Chakras on the extreme right and left.
  • The bell-shaped lotus was omitted.
  • The motto Satyameva Jayate, written in Devanagari script below the profile of the Lion Capital is part of the State Emblem of India.