The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has decided to open up its secret ledger of maximum scores it awards to colleges. It will, for the very first time, declare the highest marks, called as benchmarks in NAAC terminology, that it has set aside for each of the parameters it grades colleges on.



  • For any college to receive accreditation, it is asked several questions on the basis of faculty, facilities, academic and administrative processes, like the number of PhD faculty, students enrolled, number of computers, books in the library, etc.
    • For each question asked, there is a top score that was a well-kept secret for years.
  • But now, NAAC will reveal that score, thus allowing institutes to push the pedal and aim for higher numbers.


About National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)

  • NAAC is an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC).
  • It was established in 1994 on the basis of recommendations made under the National Education Policy (1986).
  • It is registered under the Karnataka Societies Registration Act of 1960.
  • Vision — To make quality the defining element of higher education in India through a combination of self and external quality evaluation, promotion and sustenance initiatives.
  • Headquarters — Bengaluru


Objectives of NAAC

  • To arrange for periodic assessment and accreditation of institutions of higher education or units thereof, or specific academic programmes or projects;
  • To stimulate the academic environment for promotion of quality of teaching-learning and research in higher education institutions;
  • To encourage self-evaluation, accountability, autonomy and innovations in higher education;
  • To undertake quality-related research studies, consultancy and training programmes, and


What is Assessment & Accreditation?

  • Assessment is the performance evaluation of an institution or its units based on certain established criteria.
  • Accreditation is the certification of quality for a fixed period, which in the case of NAAC is five years.
  • The University Grants Commission (UGC) through a gazette notification in January 2013, has made it mandatory for Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) to undergo accreditation.


How Accreditation Process is Carried Out?

The process of Assessment and Accreditation broadly consists of –

    • Online submission of Institutional Information for Quality Assessment (IIQA) and Self-Study Report (SSR).
    • Data Validation and Verification (DVV) by NAAC.
    • Student Satisfaction Survey (SSS) by NAAC.
    • Peer Team Visit.
    • Institutional Grading.