The boundary line shown on 29 topo-sheets by a high-powered committee in 1960 will be taken as the basis for the realignment of the Arunachal Pradesh-Assam boundary towards resolving decades of dispute.



  • Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and his Arunachal Pradesh counterpart Pema Khandu recently signed the Namsai Declaration for minimising the inter-State boundary dispute involving 123 villages.
  • A list of these villages had been placed before a local commission by Arunachal Pradesh on December 26, 2007.
  • According to the declaration, all border issues between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh will be confined to those raised before the local commission in 2007.
  • Namsai is the headquarters of Namsai district in southern Arunachal Pradesh.



  • Present-day Arunachal Pradesh, which attained Statehood in February 1987, used to be the North East Frontier Tract, administered by the Governor of Assam as an agent of the President of India.
  • It was renamed North East Frontier Agency and brought under the Central government’s control in 1954.