The European Union (EU) postponed the launch of the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) till 2024.


About European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS)

  • It is a proposed digital travel authorisation system for visa-exempt visitors to the EU and its Schengen Area.
  • ETIAS is not a visa and is more accurately referred to as a visa waiver.
  • It is a completely electronic system that allows and keeps track of visitors from countries who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen Zone.
  • It will gather, keep track of, and update necessary information regarding visitors to determine whether it is safe for them to enter Schengen countries.
  • The ETIAS will undergo a detailed security check of each applicant to determine whether they can be allowed to enter any Schengen Zone country.
  • The ETIAS, besides being used for business and tourist purposes, will also allow people to visit the Schengen countries for medical and transit reasons.
  • It will be mandatory for all countries that are Schengen visa-free.


What is the Schengen Area?

  • The Schengen Area, or Schengen Countries Zone, is a group of 27 European nations that have abolished border controls between each other.
  • Most European Union (EU) countries are signatories to the Schengen Agreement, although some non-Schengen countries, like Bulgaria and Romania, are signed up but not yet active members.
  • Switzerland, Iceland, and Norway are not in the EU but are inside of the Schengen Area.