Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar participated in the 17th East Asia Summit in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.


What is ASEAN?

  • ASEAN was founded in 1967 (by ASEAN Declaration at Bangkok, Thailand) by Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines with the aim of containing communism in their region.
  • ASEAN Member nations – A total of 10-nations – Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, Philippines.
  • The Secretariat of ASEAN is located at Jakarta, Indonesia.
  • India, a leader of the NAM, which also leaned towards the Soviet Union, wasn’t enthusiastic about what it saw as a pro-US bloc in Asia. The year 2017 marked the 50 years of ASEAN.
  • East Asia Summit (EAS) – A total of 18-nations – ASEAN (10 nations) + (China, Japan, South Korea) + (India, Australia, New Zealand) + (Russia, US)
  • ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) – ARF is a formal, official, multilateral, dialogue in the Asia Pacific region. Participants: All EAS members (18 nations) + Papua New Guinea, East Timor, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, North Korea, Mongolia, Canada and EU. Objectives – To foster dialogue and consultation, and to promote CBMs and preventive diplomacy in the region. The ARF met for the first time in 1994.


About the ‘East Asia Summit’

  • EAS is a meeting of 18 regional leaders for strategic dialogue and cooperation on the key political, security, and economic challenges facing the Indo-Pacific region.
    • It is the Indo-Pacific’s premier forum for strategic dialogue.
  • It comprises —
    • Ten-member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) – Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam; and
    • Eight dialogue partners of ASEAN – Australia, China, Japan, India, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russia and United States.
      • The United States and the Russian Federation joined at the 6th East Asia Summit in 2011.
  • The EAS membership represents around 54% of the worlds population and accounts for 58% of global GDP.
  • Six priority areas of regional cooperation within the framework of the EAS —
      • Environment and Energy,
      • Education,
      • Finance,
      • Global Health Issues and Pandemic Diseases,
      • Natural Disaster Management, and
      • ASEAN Connectivity


EASs links with India

  • ASEAN-India Strategic Partnership stands on a strong foundation of shared geographical, historical and civilisational ties.
  • ASEAN is central to Indias Act East Policy and our wider vision of the Indo-Pacific.
  • This year marks the 30th anniversary of ASEAN-India relations and is being celebrated as the ASEAN-India Friendship Year.
  • Recently, Vice-President Dhankhar announced an additional contribution of USD 5 million to the ASEAN-India science and technology fund to enhance cooperation in sectors of public health, renewable energy and smart agriculture.