President of India, Smt Droupadi Murmu, paid floral tributes to Dr Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India, on his birth anniversary (December 3, 2022)at Rashtrapati Bhavan.


About Dr. Rajendra Prasad

  • Rajendra Prasad, (born December 3, 1884, Zeradei, India—died February 28, 1963, Patna), Indian politician, lawyer, and journalist who was the first president of the Republic of India (1950–62).
  • He also was a comrade of Mahatma Gandhi early in the non-cooperation movement for independence and was president of the Indian National Congress (1934, 1939, and 1947).
  • Raised in a landowning family of modest means, Prasad was a graduate of the Calcutta Law College. He practiced at the Calcutta High Court and in 1916 transferred to the Patna High Court and founded the Bihar Law Weekly.
  • In 1917 he was recruited by Gandhi to help in a campaign to improve conditions for peasants exploited by British indigo planters in Bihar. He gave up his law practice in 1920 to join the non-cooperation movement.
  • Becoming an active journalist in the nationalist interest, he wrote for Searchlight in English, founded and edited the Hindi weekly Desh (“Country”), and started his lifelong campaign to establish Hindi as the national language.
  • Imprisoned several times by the British for non-cooperation activities, he served nearly three years (August 1942–June 1945) in jail with the Congress Party’s Working Committee.
  • In September 1946 Prasad was sworn in as Minister for Food and Agriculture in the interim government preceding full independence. From 1946 to 1949 he presided over the Indian Constituent Assembly and helped to shape the constitution.
  • He was unanimously elected president in 1950 and, after the first general election (1952), was chosen by an overwhelming majority of the new electoral college; in 1957 he was elected to a third term.
  • Prasad retired from public life in 1962 because of his deteriorating health. That same year he was honoured with the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award.
  • His autobiography, Atmakatha, was published in 1946. He is also the author of India Divided (1946), Mahatma Gandhi and Bihar, Some Reminiscences (1949), and other books.