Indonesian Foreign Minister recently said India and other countries should “respect” and follow the ASEAN’s policy on Myanmar rather than taking a “different path.


ASEAN’s five points Consensus are

  • It states that there shall be an immediate cessation of violence in Myanmar.
  • All parties shall exercise utmost restraint; constructive dialogue among all parties concerned shall commence to seek a peaceful solution in the interests of the people.
  • A special envoy of the ASEAN Chair shall facilitate mediation of the dialogue process, with the assistance of the secretary-general of ASEAN.
  • ASEAN shall provide humanitarian assistance through the AHA Centre (ASEAN Coordinating Centre for Humanitarian Assistance on disaster management).
  • The special envoy and delegation shall visit Myanmar to meet with all parties concerned.



  • It is a group of Association of Southeast Asian Nations, which was established in 1967 with the signing of the Bangkok declaration.
  • Founding members — Indonesia, Malaysia,Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Presently ASEAN comprises 10 member states namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.
  • It promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security, military, educational, and sociocultural integration between its members and other countries in Asia.